Download!Download Point responsive WP Theme for FREE!

Guinness is going vegan. Do Your Cocktails contain fish bladder?

Your vegan dinner party is set. Know if the cocktails fit your dining preference.

Guinness beer is not alone in it’s non-vegan process or filtering systems. Seems many brew-masters, winemakers, and distillers use animal ingredients, like dairy, honey, etc., in their recipes or in the processing and filtration systems.

Isinglass (from fish bladder), egg whites, gelatin, sea shells, etc. are sometimes used by companies to filter out extra yeast from the beverages before bottling. There are many animal-free alternatives and Guinness has committed to switch.

Read through the article below and share what you think.

PS – Check your beer, wine and liquors for vegan-friendly status at The Barnivore Vegan Alcohol Directory.

It’s official — Guinness is now good for vegans.

The company is to stop using fish bladders in its filters, so for the first time in its 256-year history it will be offering a vegan friendly pint of stout.

Vegans and strict vegetarians have long petitioned the St James’s Gate Brewery to stop using isinglass, …

A spokesman for Guinness said that a new filtration plant, set to be built (2016), will spell the end of the substance, … “Whilst isinglass is a very effective means of clarification, and has been used for many years, we expect to stop using it as the new filtration asset is introduced,” the spokesman said.

The news will be a welcome surprise for vegans. In January the company wrote to Barnivore, an online guide to vegan beer and wine, and said that no alternative could be found to filter the famous stout. The company said it was reviewing its options, but that to date, we have not found any alternative that is as effective and as environmentally friendly as isinglass,”

The company is now understood to be looking at two filtration methods which would not require isinglass.

See the full article at The Times Irish News.

Featured Image